Laws regarding Long Guns
Texas has no specific laws regarding the registration of long guns, or permits to buy, outside of federal regulations. The minimum age to own a rifle or shotgun is 18 years old
“Assault Weapons” Law
Texas has no laws on the books regarding “assault weapons” or any other classification of weapons. No rifle features are restricted in the state.
Laws regarding Hand Guns
Age to Own a Handgun
The age to own a handgun is 18 years old in Texas. However, the age to buy a handgun from a federally licensed FFL is 21 (and that’s a federal law). The most common way for Texans to acquire a handgun under the age of 21 years old is to buy one privately from an individual, or by receiving one as a gift.
Texas has no laws requiring a permit or special application process to own a handgun. You do not need a special permit to own a handgun or pistol in the state of Texas.
Texas has great laws when it comes to carrying a firearm outside the home for protection, for both handguns as well as long guns.
Texas is an open carry state, with no permit needed to do so. You are able to legally carry a handgun, rifle, or shotgun with no permit needed so long as it is not concealed, and you are not in any are posted where it is not permitted.
Texas is a Constitutional Carry state, and believe it or not, it was one of our hardest fights! We battled for 11 years for the right for Texans to carry a handgun without the need for a permit or a class involved application process before Senate Bill 1927 was passed.
Texas also allows Campus Carry. All public colleges must allow concealed carry in campus buildings. They are allowed to establish some rules regarding safety, but may not do anything that would prohibit concealed carry on campus in a general way. Constitutional Carry is not allowed on school campuses, polling places, courts, bars, and some other places, so you may still need to get a Concealed Carry permit for that.
You must be 21+ years of age in order to constitutional carry, and able to legally possess a firearm. Finally, you can not be convicted within the past 5 years of a misdemeanor involving violence (bodily injury, deadly conduct, terroristic threat, etc).
Laws Regarding 80% Lowers
Texas has no laws restricting the purchase, use, or ownership of 80% receiver products. Texas residents are free to build their own privately made firearms free of registration or restrictions.
Laws regarding Magazine Capacity
Texas has no laws regarding magazine capacity. All magazines are legal regardless of capacity.
Laws regarding NFA Items
Texas has no specific laws regarding the restrictions of NFA items outside of Federal guidelines and legalities.
There an no laws restricting short barrel rifles or short barrel shotguns in Texas.
Suppressors or Silencers
Texas has no laws restricting the use or ownership of suppressors so long as they are owned and possessed in accordance with federal guidelines. As of 2012 you are able to hunt with a suppressor as well. Texas has also passed a law, House Bill 957, circumventing the NFA and the ATF (at the state level) to purchase a suppressor in Texas if it was manufactured in Texas, however, since it’s still illegal at the federal level, this has not changed anything in actuality.
Texas has no laws restricting the use or ownership of machine guns so long as they are possessed in accordance with federal guidelines.
Texas has no laws restricting the use or ownership of AOWs so long as they are possessed in accordance with federal guidelines. However, machine guns with 15 round magazines are only about 1 second of fun.
Red Flag Laws
Texas has no red flag laws or anything that would allow a citizens firearms and means for self protection to be taken away without due process.
Disclaimer: All information in this blog is for informational purposes only. Always double check your state and local laws. Laws are subject to change, and the information in this blog may not be up-to-date or accurate.